Recently Read: Book Reviews

alice

What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty

How much did I love this book?! SO MUCH. It was hard for me to get into it at the very beginning, but once I was hooked it was the kind of book I couldn’t wait to read on my lunch break, at the gym (#halfassworkouts), and before bed. Basically any chance I had. After an accident at the gym, Alice loses her memory from the past 10 years, and she is shocked to find she now has three kids and is about to divorce her husband.

trulyTruly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty

If you follow my book posts at all, you’re probably starting to think that I am obsessed with this author. You wouldn’t be wrong. “What Alice Forgot” was SO GOOD that I could not get into any of the nonfiction reads in my pile and instead immediately devoured this one. Long wait list at the library + knowing I couldn’t renew it kept me sticking with it during the first half, which every few chapters refers to “the day of the barbecue” without telling you the big thing that actually happened that day. Once you finally find out though, ohhh man! At so many different points I had tears in my eyes; she expresses raw emotion ridiculously well. Really enjoyed this one.

presentover

Present Over Perfect by Shauna Niequist

I read and loved “Bread and Wine” by Shauna a few years ago, but “Present Over Perfect” took me months to push through. I underlined a lot of good stuff, but it was just not a favorite for me. She conveys her genuine, hospitable, kind personality really well because whenever I read her stuff I just want to be her friend and cook or go to the lake together.

unafraidUnafraid by Susie Davis

Needed this. I love the “Dear Daughters” podcast by Susie Davis and equally loved her book. She’s an encouraging spiritual mama with a gentle tone, lots of wisdom, and an incredible story. She witnessed a classmate shoot and kill her teacher during school and lived in a lot of fear for decades after. She talks about how her fears affected her daily life and relationships and how she finally faced all of the fear and continues to overcome.

todaywillbeToday Will Be Different by Maria Semple

If you haven’t read “Where’d You Go Bernadette” yet (same author), you need to. It’s what made me want to read this one without even knowing what it might be about. (Also #bookclubpick, so that too.) This is another author I’d love to have coffee with. And regular text conversations, because she cracks me up. I can so relate to her characters and that makes me think I could probably relate to her too. Crazy? Maybe. But so are her characters, in a GREAT way. I wasn’t into the ending of this book at all. And really the whole thing doesn’t compare to “Where’d You Go Bernadette,” but I hate to even say that because writers shouldn’t have that pressure to live up to after they write such a knockout novel, you know?

Leave a Reply

